Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Lawless Bankers

Ocracoke Island was not annexed to a North Carolina county precinct until 1770. At that time a member of the NC Colonial Assembly noted that, "those lawless bankers on Occacock Island are not paying taxes anywhere." The Assembly then included Ocracoke in Carteret Precinct.

Cartaret Precinct, which included Core Banks to the south, was established in 1722, having earlier been part of Craven Precinct. In 1845 Ocracoke Island (between Old Hatteras Inlet and Ocracoke Inlet) was reassigned to Hyde County, where it remains today...and where we definitely pay taxes.

Our latest Ocracoke Newsletter is the story of the Ocracoke Water Tank Caper. This is the link:

No comments:

Post a Comment